Sewing Silhouettes

So this one of the many projects I have been working on this last week…

I found some pretty wooden plaque thing-a-ma-jigs at Michaels for $1.99 each and the scrapbook paper was on sale for 25 cents a sheet.

I cut out the paper after I rubbed the edges against the paper to get the form of the plaque… I then Modge-Podged it up!

Then after smoothing out the bubbles I take my silhouettes that I traced and cut out of black cardstock paper and placed them where I wanted them and Modge-Podged some more… I love Modge-Podge…    I love saying Modge-Podge. hee hee

Smooth out as much bubbles as you can but don’t fuss over too much because it is paper you are working with… it will tear. Here is my completed project:::

I am also using the same technique to make silhouettes of my kids. One down, one to go.  I am including some of my silhouette photos for you! Enjoy!

Here are a couple of the silhouettes that I did on photoshop. The Scissors I traced from my own scissors and the needle and thread I drew free hand…as well as the letters. So the only one I have right now that I actually did on photoshop is the Dressform. But here are the ones  I have =D

:::::

Also, click on the photo below to go to a tutorial on how to make silhouettes in photoshop. This is where I learned to do it =D


Keeping It Simple


NightOwlCrafting
giveaways

This entry was posted in chic decorating, Crochet, Inspiration, Just Because, knitting, Link Party, Quilting, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sewing Silhouettes

  1. Those are so fun!! I love the colors you used!

  2. Beverly says:

    What sweet silhouettes! I love the pink and black together. So pretty!

  3. Leslie says:

    I love these! They turned out so cute! Thanks for linking up to Hoo’s got talent!

  4. I like ’em!
    Thanks for sharing, this week, @ Anything Related!

  5. Love these! The silhouetts are fabulous – How cute would they be in a craft room! Thanks again for joining The Sunday Showcase! Hope to see you again next week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

  6. Jenny says:

    Oh my gosh, these are great! I still haven’t gotten around to fixing up my sewing room at all. These may be perfect for the wall above my sewing desk!! Great silhouettes! I like how you didn’t just use white as the background.
    Please add these to my linky party, too!
    Jenny
    http://www.seaminglysmitten.blogspot.com

  7. Tori says:

    Awesome! I feel inspired…

  8. Dayna says:

    Oh! How great!

  9. Tori says:

    I made some too! Thanks for the idea and the silhouettes!

    • sewinmama says:

      no prob. I know how much it helps to see a project, want to do it and actually have something to take from it and start with. Hope it helped =) I used the wrong type of glaze though. I would use glossy instead of matte like i did on this one. =(

  10. sewinmama says:

    Oh, I’m sorry, this image isn’t even the one I used for my actual plaques… I just wanted to find one for people to use and I found it through google images. I will post a link to your page though… Thank you for sharing it =) The one I used for mine was not the same image but one that I did through photoshop, but I lost the image on my computer so I just got another one to share.

    • Christie says:

      Ok, great, thanks! I don’t mind if you delete my first comment:). So just curious now, but why did you change the shape that you did have on it this morning?

      • sewinmama says:

        I guess i just wanted to re-do mine in photoshop so it was mine. Sorry if I caused a problem posting the one i found 😉 I wanted to post one closer to the one i actually used. =)

Leave a Reply

